Skip to main navigation.

Annual Meeting recap: New trustees elected, former trustees honored

MARION, April 5, 2018 — More than 350 members and guests attended the annual membership meeting of Mid-Ohio Energy Cooperative at Elgin High School.

Trustee election results were announced, and members elected Tony Hastings of Kenton, District 1; Brice Turner of Harrod, District 2; and Trevor Fremont of New Bloomington, District 3, for the board. 

Hastings and Fremont take seats vacated by retiring trustees Richard Kritzler, who served on the board for 31 years, and Donald Bumgarner, who served nine years as a trustee and was an employee for 10. Turner ran for the District 2 seat against incumbent Karl Marshall, who had served on the board for 38 years.

Voting was conducted by mail and online ballot prior to the meeting.

“These men have contributed substantially over the years to our cooperative program and will be missed greatly,” Mid-Ohio Energy CEO John Metcalf said of the former trustees. “All of your cooperative’s trustees are very dedicated individuals who devote countless hours, always working in the best interest of our members.”

Retiring employee Kathy Sherman, who served in various accounting and member service roles for 25 years, was also recognized for her service during the presention.

In his report, Metcalf emphasized that Mid-Ohio’s board and staff are the drivers behind the co-op’s tradition of service excellence, which includes top-tier scores for reliability. 

“Last year, our number of outages were less than half of that of surrounding electric providers,” Metcalf said. “And when an outage occurred, our ability to restore that outage was equally impressive. Last year, the average outage duration was only 1 hour, 12 minutes. We can attribute our quick response times to our local presence that focuses on customer service from both our Marion and Kenton facilities."

“It’s a result of our professional, very dedicated and well-trained workforce that uses state-of-the-art technology and equipment to maintain impressive reliability for our members,” Metcalf continued.

The co-op’s Community Fund program was also highlighted. Through the Community Fund, participating members have their electric bills rounded up to the next whole dollar, and the collective spare change is used to help people and organizations in need in local communities.

"Since the beginning of the program, we’ve invested a total of more than half a million dollars into the lives of our members and local communities. With members' help, we look forward to continuing to do great things in our communities," said Community Fund chairman Rob Radway.

Mid-Ohio members can also be involved with their cooperative by serving on a member advisory group. For the initial program, each trustee has appointed at least one member from his district to participate in the group.

“The Member Advisory Committee meets periodically with your cooperative's board and staff to discuss key issues facing our industry as well as to give a fresh perspective and feedback regarding the direction of your cooperative,” Metcalf said. 

Tom Alban, who represented Mid-Ohio’s statewide service organization and power supplier, said the co-op’s efforts to engage its membership, enhance the benefits of local ownership and operation, and improve service is what cooperatives are all about.

“From poles and wires to philanthropic endeavors, Ohio electric cooperatives are engrained in the fabric of their communities,” said Alban, who is vice president of power generation at Ohio’s Electric Cooperatives. “A community’s success is our success.”




Mid-Ohio Energy Cooperative is a not-for-profit, member-owned electric utility serving more than 8,000 consumer-members primarily in Hardin and Marion counties and portions of eight more.

To learn more about the cooperative and its programs and services, please visit 



Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo